Two Robotics Faculty Members Named to the Class of 2012 IEEE Fellows

At its November 2011 meeting, the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE) Board of Directors elected Magnus Egerstedt and Irfan Essa to IEEE Fellow, effective January 1, 2012.

Egerstedt was cited for "contributions to hybrid and networked control, with applications in robotics," while Essa was noted for "contributions to computer vision and graphics." 

The IEEE Grade of Fellow is conferred by the Board of Directors upon a person with an extraordinary record of accomplishments in any of the IEEE fields of interest. The total number selected in any one year cannot exceed one-tenth percent of the total voting membership. IEEE Fellow is the highest grade of membership and is recognized by the technical community as a prestigious honor and an important career achievement.

Related Media

Click on image(s) to view larger version(s)

  • Magnus Egerstedt

  • Irfan Essa

For More Information Contact

Josie Giles
IRIM Marketing Communications